NEWSLETTER W3C Kantoor Benelux – Bureau W3C Bénélux – Benelux W3C Office

January – janvier – januari 2009

Website: --

New year reception on 15 January 2009

NY2009 2009-01-31: AC-reps, members of W3C, staff and assistants attended a New Year's reception on Thursday 15 January 2009 at the Felix Meritis building (Keizersgracht 324, Amsterdam). This event was organized by a.o. ISOC.NL.
Participants were from amongst others:
Internet Society Nederland, RIPE NCC, AMS-ix, Terena, Vereniging Open Domein, ISPconnect, Dutch Hosting Provider Association,, W3C Benelux,, OpenDoc Society, SURFnet, SELF, CAcert, SIDN, NLnet, NLnet Labs, Oophaga, HXX/HAR2009, Bits of Freedom a.i., Free Knowledge Institute, and Vrijschrift.

Talks were given by a.o. the following W3C people

XML Base (Second Edition) Is a W3C Recommendation

2009-01-28: The XML Core Working Group has published the W3C Recommendation of XML Base (Second Edition). This document describes a mechanism for providing base URI services to XLink, but as a modular specification so that other XML applications benefiting from additional control over relative URIs but not built upon XLink can also make use of it. The syntax consists of a single XML attribute named xml:base. The functionality is similar to the base element in HTML. This document is part of W3C's ongoing work to maintain the core XML technologies. Learn more about the Extensible Markup Language (XML) Activity.

W3C Invites Implementations of CURIE Syntax 1.0

2009-01-16: The XHTML2 Working Group invites implementation of the Candidate Recommendation of CURIE Syntax 1.0. This document defines a generic, abbreviated syntax for expressing URIs. This syntax is intended to be used as a common element by language designers. The intended audience for this document is Language designers, not the users of those Languages. Track implementations in an ongoing implementation report and learn more about the HTML Activity.

W3C Advisory Committee Elects TAG Participants

2009-01-13: The W3C Advisory Committee has elected John Kemp (Nokia), Larry Masinter (Adobe), and T.V. Raman (Google) to the W3C Technical Architecture Group (TAG). Continuing TAG participants are Ashok Malhotra (Oracle), Noah Mendelsohn (IBM, appointed), Jonathan Rees (Science Commons, appointed), and Henry Thompson (U. of Edinburgh). The Director is expected to appoint one individual as well. The mission of the TAG is to build consensus around principles of Web architecture and to interpret and clarify these principles when necessary, to resolve issues involving general Web architecture brought to the TAG, and to help coordinate cross-technology architecture developments inside and outside W3C.